Thursday, August 23, 2007

30-3

In case you missed it, Texas dropped 30 runs – that's thirty – on Baltimore yesterday. Seeing as that last happened in the 19th century, I'm guessing I won't see a box score like that again. Ever.

By the by, you'll notice on the box score that the second Ranger pitcher was credited with a save. Now, I checked the rulebook, and here's what it says:

10.19 Saves For Relief Pitchers
A save is a statistic credited to a relief pitcher, as set forth in this Rule 10.19.
The official scorer shall credit a pitcher with a save when such pitcher meets all four of the following conditions:
(a) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team; [check]
(b) He is not the winning pitcher; [check]
(c) He is credited with at least a third of an inning pitched; [check] and
(d) He satisfies one of the following conditions:
(1) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; [nope]
(2) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batters he faces); [nope] or
(3) He pitches for at least three innings. [check]
So fine, he gets a save. But is it just me, or is a pitcher entering the game with an 11 run lead who manages, basically, not to collapse over 3 innings not really saving anything?

No comments: